top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Vahtera

Spiced Rice & Pick Your Own Side

20180730_141335

While I kind of like Sushi, I can’t really be called a sushi-lover since I don’t like almost any traditional sushi fillings. However I was thinking about making sushi with my choosing of ingredients. It had to be tested beforehand though, so I though I’d make a decent meal out of the test.

Spiced Rice

Ingredients

  1. 3 dl short rice (used for porridge)

  2. 4.5 dl water

  3. 1 tbsp salt

  4. 1 tsp black pepper, ground

  5. 1-2 tsp ginger (dried, powdered)

  6. ½ tsp orange/mandarin zest

  7. 20-50g butter

  8. pinch of cumin

Wash rice gently, but well. Cook in a rice cooker or however you want. I have a special pot made for cooking rice in a microwave. I cooked mine for 15 minutes and let it sit for 30 minutes in the microwave before touching it.

Pour it into a bowl and season and add butter. It’s sort of sticky and heavy so mixing it well is almost a chore, be sure to do it anyways, otherwise you’ll end up with “surprises” when you’re eating it…

Put a towel on top to keep it warm and moist. Leave be while you make the rest of the meal.

Assorted sides

Ingredients

  1. 3-4 carrots

  2. 10 cm of cucumber

  3. 1 stalk of celery

  4. 15 cm of leek

  5. 1-3 cloves of garlic

  6. 2 dl sweet corn (I used frozen)

  7. 2 dl sweet peas (I used frozen)

  8. 200-300 g marinated chicken (mine was “smooth pepper”)

  9. 100 g ham slices (meant for sandwiches)

Wash everything, peel carrots and leek if needed. Chop everything to 5 cm long pieces then cut them to thin strips (Julienne cut). Put each ingredient to different small bowls.

Cook chicken as you’d like. Mine was in strips and marinated already so I just fried it for 15 minutes or so and put into a small bowl.

Peel garlic and mince, put into a tiny bowl.

For sweet corn and peas, I defrosted them and warmed them up in a microwave with a tiny pinch of butter added.

Serve in separate bowls and let everyone choose what to eat with their rice.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page