top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Vahtera

Onion Spread

IMG_3775

Using butter or margarine on a bread is all fine and dandy, but having different tasting table spreads is a nice luxury that needs not cost you an arm and a leg. I’ve done dozens of different variations, but this time I just had a bunch of shallots left-over from other meals. So onward with shallots we go.

Ingredients

  1. 200g of butter/margarine/table spread.

  2. 5 shallots

  3. 2 spring onions

  4. fresh chives

  5. olive oil

  6. vegetable oil

I took out about 1/3 out of a 350g box of margarine and put that aside, keeping the box for this. Peel shallots and onions, mince well. Mince chives, I had about a handful of ~10cm long ones. Use a table or hand blender to blend everything together in a bowl, or the margarine box (I used a hand blender in that – no dishes). Use oil enough to get a soft mix. I used about 2 tbsp of olive oil and 4-6 tbsp of vegetable oil.

Put in a container or use the margarine box and close the lid. Put in a fridge and let sit for at least an hour or two before use.

Season with salt and pepper if you want, I didn’t use any at this time. I might add a bit of salt, now that I’ve tasted it. Not that it’s unsalted, just that I think it needs a pinch more.

I served with full-corn rye bread and a slice of peppered ham.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page