top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Vahtera

Chicken Soup with Summer Veggies

So one day I was planning our meals and I found out that not only did I have one packet of pre-marinated chicken strips that should be made that day, I had three. Cue frantic “oh crap what do I do with this much chicken I can’t just fry them all I should make something easier with it heck why didn’t I notice earlier..” Well, you get the point. Thankfully I love soup and I’m even not the only one. So I grabbed a bunch of veggies and a pot…

Ingredients

  1. 1-3 packets (400-1200g) chicken strips.

  2. 1 Zucchini (I only used 2/3 of it though)

  3. 2 carrots

  4. ½ leek

  5. 1 spring onion

  6. Several spring onion stalks

  7. ½ tsp orange/mandarin zest, ground

  8. curry mix

  9. salt

  10. black pepper

Chicken strips into a pot, barely cover with water. Bring to boil and let it cook while preparing other ingredients. But at least 10-15 minute. If your chicken is not marinated, pour 1 tbsp of honey, pinch of curry mix and season it with salt and pepper 15-20 minutes before.

Wash and peel zucchini, carrots and onions. (You can very well use zucchini unpeeled, I just don’t like the texture in otherwise soft and smooth soup). Chop fine to medium, but not too big. Make them smaller than the chicken strips.

Add the rest of the ingredients, add water so everything is covered. Bring to boil again and cook for 10 minutes. Taste and season with curry mix, salt and pepper to taste. Turn heat to low and let it simmer for 1-2 hours. Check on it once in a while to make sure you’re not running dry.

Ideas for making it different

If you want it smoother and more creamy, add 2 dl of thick cream at the end and let simmer for another 5 minutes.

If you want more texture to the soup, fry the chicken strips beforehand so they get a nice caramelized surface. And don’t peel the zucchini.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page