top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Vahtera

Broth Waste to .. bread?

Making Broth

So. I was making veggie broth and I was going to throw away the vegetable mash that had been squished for all the liquids. But, I don’t want to throw anything up and I was suggested to try to use it with buns.

Broth Ingredients

  1. Potatoes

  2. Sweet potato

  3. Onions

  4. Zucchini

  5. Carrots

  6. Spring Onions

  7. Black Pepper

  8. Star Anis

  9. Coriander

  10. Fennel Seeds

I was going to make bread anyway, to try a different thing I heard from watching Alex French Guy Cooking on YouTube. Basically to put the bread into a bowl with lid and THEN into the oven. It’s supposed to make the surface crispier and keep the insides soft (spoiler: it worked).

So anyway I figured I’d try the vegetable mash in a bread.

Bread Ingredients

  1. 2 pouches of dried yeast

  2. 3-grain bun flour

  3. white flour

  4. ½l water

  5. sugar

  6. salt

  7. 3-4 dl vegetable mash leftover from making broth

Heat water to about 40 degree Celsius. (A bit warmer than your skin.) Take a large bowl, pour water and yeast into it. Add 2dl flour and tbsp of sugar and season with salt.  The recipe I have in my mind for bread I usually make request just one pouch of dried yeast, but since I’d be adding the veggie mash, I figured I’d need more (hint: I was right).

Let it rise for half an hour. Add 2/3 3-grain flour and 1/3 white flour. I don’t have an exact amount since I don’t measure it when making bread. Just add enough so the dough can be handled and seems soft but not liquid. I don’t know. Like bread dough? 🙂

Let rise again, this time for 1-3 hours, depending on how much time you have. I only had 1 hour so the bread in the end was a little bit too firm.

This made enough dough for two breads that could fit into my pot. So I divided the dough in two over slightly floured table and let them sit under a baking towel for 10-20 minutes. Then I put the first dough into the pot, closed the lid and put it into over for about an hour. It came up really, really good.

What I would do differently?

First, If I’d known I’d be using it afterwards, I’d have used ground black pepper and star anise in the first place. Finding whole black peppers in your bread slice is not something I’d suggest doing unless you really like black pepper…

Second, It might’ve been better to use a blender on the mash so it would be really smooth and not separate ingredients. Might’ve been better. And definitely let the dough rise longer than I did! But over all, successful experiment and all of the bread has been eaten. Yum.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page