top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnna Vahtera

From Failure to Fine Chowder

So, I was craving something hot and brought some fresh chilies from the grocery store. These were store-brand long-ish red chilies so I thought they’d be close to Red Thai, Fresno or Jalapeño. (spoiler: they weren’t). So I thought I’d cook up a small patch of delicious onions with garlic and chili.

Hot Mix Recipe

  1. 2 Cloves of Garlic

  2. 1 Chili

  3. 1 Shallot

  4. 1 Spring onion

  5. 1 tsp salt

  6. 1 tsp ground Black Pepper

  7. 1 tbsp oil

Peel and mince / fine dice. Bring heat up, add oil. And then ingredients when oil is really hot. Sear for a minute or two, then add seasoning.

It was at this point I figured out the Chilies were impostors. The aroma and steam rising from the pot made me choke and cough for a good few minutes. My nose felt hot for hours afterwards. By not being the brightest, I still tasted it. It was sooo delicious but oh my Goddess so hot! The chilies were probably cayannes, or something similar, more close in hotness to Habaneros than Jalapeños. So a nice dry bread and a milk later I decided it’s uneatable in its current state, but too delicious to throw out. Cue thinking of what can I do to soften it down? Water? Cream? Vegetable? Idea. I’ll make a creamy vegetable chowder out of it.

Veggie Chowder Recipe

  1. Half a big Sweet Potate

  2. 4-5 Small (new) Potatoes

  3. 3 fresh summer carrots

  4. water

  5. 1 dl white flour

  6. 2 dl thick cream

  7. salt

  8. black pepper

  9. 100g butter

Peel and wash everything. Chop until you have medium diced “salad”. Add them to a medium pot and just barely cover with water. Season with salt and pepper. Bring to boil and cook until potatoes and carrots are soft and sweet potatoes have disintegrated into mash. Add 1 dl of white flour to 2 dl of water, mix well until smooth. Add mixture to pot and stir well. (If it becomes too dry, add 1-2 dl water). Let simmer for 5 minutes. Pour Hot Mix into the pot and add thick cream and butter, mix well. Let simmer for another 15-20 minutes. Taste and add salt if necessary. Take of the heat and let it sit for 15-30 minutes.

Serve as is, or with bread and salad.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page